Mouse, Spiders and Me – a children’s story

Mouse, Spiders and Me – a children’s story

by Jim Sliney Jr

I went to the basement to feed the mice and talk to the spiders. I liked the smell down there.

Sometimes Grandma yells, “Go play outside!”, but I don’t. I know she’ll never come check. She’s always sweeping.

Mom and Dad both work every day. When they get home they are tired. Jeremy – he’s my brother – he goes to school far away. I miss him sometimes. But the mice and spiders are always here and they’re never too busy to play.

#

Last night, after Mom and Dad went to bed, I heard a noise downstairs. I crept to the kitchen, then to the basement door. I tip toed to the basement. It was really dark, but I used the flashlight.

Behind the boiler I found a tiny mouse. He looked sick. I asked him “are you okay?”, but he didn’t answer me, because mice don’t know how to talk.

Jeremy always says I shouldn’t touch the mice but, I had to help him, the mouse was sick. Jeremy would understand. I put out my hand and the mouse smelled it. He probably smelled my Reese’s Pieces because he walked right into my hand.

Now I keep him in my bottom drawer. I made a comfy bed there out of tissues and popsicle sticks. And I gave him some of my polished rocks, plus, I sneak him bits of dinner.

#

When Pete Mouse is better, we will go to the scary place where all the old trains are and find his family. There are lots of mice there.

“Everyone has a family” I tell Pete Mouse, “and when they see you, they will be sooo happy”. But for now it is time for sleep. I crawl under my bed, say goodnight to Pete Mouse and the daddy-long-legs’.

I dream.

THE END JJSjr

Special thanks to my teacher, Peter Catalanotto

 

Leave a Reply

